Thing I love #35: Old School Backpacks

kelty_backpacks_1984

I have a total lady-boner for old backpacks. I love their sweet logos. I love their colors (navy blue, rust orange, or darker navy blue).I love the ads that they were featured in. I love the fact that the people who used them seemed to be energetic, tree-lovin’, self-sufficient types who enjoyed morning dips in cold mountain lakes and hot oatmeal. I love their clunky silhouettes. I love their leather details. I love that you could mend one yourself without any serious detriment to the pack’s aesthetic.

From the July Issue of Backpacker Magazine

AND YOU CAN BUY THEM NOW AT URBAN OUTFITTERS. Above: The Herschel Supply Co. Little America Backpack.

From the July Issue of Backpacker Magazine

Herschel Supply Co. Pop Quiz Backpack

From the July Issue of Backpacker Magazine

Allson Hiking Backpack

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

